Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Questions considering Vista and WINXP
Hyperion
post Oct 2 2007, 06:54 PM
Post #1



100% Finnish! >;P


Group: Members
Posts: 598
Joined: 27-October 05
From: Finland. DUH! XD
Member No.: 1686



I have questions that has been on my mind from the moment I bought new pc with WIN Vista Home Basic Pre-installed.

What I want to ask is that if I want to install WIN XP on my current computer (Packard Bell 1.6GHz, with 767MB RAM) and later on moving back to vista (when they release Service Pack 1 for Vista) how can I move back to Vista then if I don't have Vista CD anywhere? 'cause when I bought this computer all programs that has preinstalled there, I didn't find Win Vista installer cd anywhere (normally it should include on new computer pack but I didn't get one)? and I don't want to pay... what... almost 300 euros to get an Vista back! (Yes that's how much Vista Ultimate costs here)

So question is how the heck I can install Win Vista back if i don't have the cd what should be included there and I'm NOT going to pay like 300 euros to get new cd for vista!?

here's what SiSoft SANDRA collected of my computer:

QUOTE
SiSoftware Sandra

System
Host Name : LUNA
User : Kamegi
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Processor
Model : Intel® Celeron® CPU 420 @ 1.60GHz
Speed : 1.60GHz
Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Internal Data Cache : 1x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way set, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 1x 512kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 2-way set, 64 byte line size

System
System : Packard Bell BV ISTART B3210
Mainboard : Packard Bell BV RC415
Bus(es) : ISA PCI IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : 1 Processor(s)
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
System BIOS : American Megatrends Inc. 8.13
Total Memory : 767MB DDR2-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : ATI Technologies Inc RS400/200 Host Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 1GB DDR2-SDRAM
Shared Memory : 4GB
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 267MHz (534MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : General PnP-device
Adapter : ATI RADEON XPRESS 200 Series

Physical Storage Devices
ST3250820AS (ATA) : 233GB (C:)
ATAPI DVD A DH18A1P (ATAPI) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
_OEMBP : 8GB (4GB, 50% Free Space) (NTFS)
HDD (C:) : 225GB (147GB, 65% Free Space) (NTFS) @ ST3250820AS (ATA)
CD-ROM/DVD (D:) : N/A @ ATAPI DVD A DH18A1P (ATAPI)

Peripherals
USB Controller/Hub : Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
Keyboard : Standard 101/102-button or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse : Microsoft PS/2-mouse

Printers and Faxes
Model : Microsoft XPS Document Writer
Model : HP Deskjet 5700 Series (HPA)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows Vista Home 6.00.6000
Platform Compliance : Win32 x86

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 2.0

Network Services
Adapter : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC



This post has been edited by Hyperion: Oct 2 2007, 06:56 PM


--------------------
Proud Member of The Viera Family
IPB Image
Thank you -josh-!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andrzej
post Oct 2 2007, 10:25 PM
Post #2



Big Boss
Group Icon


Group: Moderators
Posts: 4097
Joined: 9-May 04
From: Los Angeles, CA
Member No.: 345



most PCs/Laptops today don't include the windows installation CDs

usually they do give you some kind of 'recovery disk' or a 'recovery mode' right when you boot up your computer

BUT there is no way to ensure that once you format and go to XP, that that recovery thing will still work


the only thing that i can tell you is to use a program called Jelly Bean or something like that, and get your current Vista Home's Serial #

then acquire *download* a CD of Vista Home

You do have a legitimate serial # after all wink.gif


--------------------
last.fm
mgs4 has come and gone... oh how the time flies

♥SNAKE ARE YOU INFECTED WITH FOXDIE?
...BECAUSE I JUST FELT MY HEART STOP

NET WIKI! & NET-AE
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Hyperion
post Oct 3 2007, 10:09 PM
Post #3



100% Finnish! >;P


Group: Members
Posts: 598
Joined: 27-October 05
From: Finland. DUH! XD
Member No.: 1686



Well I do have created Recovery DVD that I created for a situation like this but I dunno if I can recover my vista on it...


--------------------
Proud Member of The Viera Family
IPB Image
Thank you -josh-!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andrzej
post Oct 4 2007, 01:11 AM
Post #4



Big Boss
Group Icon


Group: Moderators
Posts: 4097
Joined: 9-May 04
From: Los Angeles, CA
Member No.: 345



unless the recovery CD was made in vista ...but i'm not sure


--------------------
last.fm
mgs4 has come and gone... oh how the time flies

♥SNAKE ARE YOU INFECTED WITH FOXDIE?
...BECAUSE I JUST FELT MY HEART STOP

NET WIKI! & NET-AE
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2018 - 03:48 PM


© Copyright 2003-2007 FFXII.Net - All Rights Reserved - Disclaimer
Final Fantasy XII, FFXII & FF12 are registered trademarks of Square Enix Co., Ltd.